• BUC

June 26, 2022 | Virtual Worship | GA Sunday Service

On June 26, we joined in watching the livestream of the Sunday morning worship service from this year's UUA General Assembly in Portland, OR.

Program Description

The last few years have not been easy, including in our local congregations. Whole swaths of members have simply stopped coming; COVID is confusing, and polarizing; many ministers have joined the great resignation; and Pew studies and friends alike have pronounced the end of the local church.

In this moment, when so many of us might be wondering if we should just give up, and relent, now’s the time instead to double down on our commitment to the local church -this unique community that saves us and also breaks our hearts - often much more of the latter than we’d like to admit. In the midst of our culture of death, the church is a place of life. Or it is, as long as we are willing to bring our own lives to it. Join us for a morning of celebration, witness, and future-visioning for the already and not yet power of the local Unitarian Universalist church.

Leading us in worship will be Rev. Gretchen Haley, Rev. Shari Halliday-Quan, Rev. Sean Neil-Barron, Lea Morris, Adam Podd, Joseph and Aimee Santos-Lyons, and Allison King with the GA Choir.

Order of Service

  • Ingathering Songs Led by Alison King, with Melissa Sky-Eagle on piano, and the GA Band - Michael Backus, guitar, John Wulcott, bass, Casey Anderson, drums

  • We Give Thanks

  • Wake Now My Senses

  • Siyahamba

  • Rivers of Grace

  • Come and Go With Me

  • Call to Worship Revs. Gretchen Haley, Shari Halliday-Quan, and Sean Neil-Barron

  • Choral Anthem—“The Storm is Passing Over” Charles Albert Tindley/arr. Barbara W. Baker Choral Direction by Alison King, with Melissa Sky-Eagle on piano

  • Chalice Lighting Aimee, Mikyka’ela, Iyara and Rev. Joseph Santos-Lyons

  • Holding / Held Rev. Shari Halliday-Quan Adam Podd, arrangement and piano

  • “Rock Me (Divine Mother)” by Ana Egge and Gary Nicholson

  • Spoken Word & Visual Reflection—“Because Church” Rev. Sean Neil-Barron

  • Musical Response—“Abide With Me” Traditional Lyrics by William Henry Monk with arrangement/new lyrics by Rev. Christopher Watkins Lamb Piano by Melissa Sky-Eagle, spoken word from Lea Morris, Casey Anderson, drums

  • Story—“Partners” Rabbi Marc Gellman, used by permission of the author Original artwork by Steve Sedam Voice over by Michael Cruz Video animation by Elliot Cennamo

  • Sermon—“The Deal On Those Days” Rev. Gretchen Haley

  • Choral Anthem—“You Will Be Found” Benj Pasek & Justin Paul/arr. Mac Huff, Hal Leonard Choral Direction by Alison King, with Melissa Sky-Eagle on piano, and the GA band

  • Offering—East County Rising Community Projects Offering invited by Rev. Shari Halliday-Quan Donate

  • Offertory Lea Morris, vocals and Adam Podd, piano, and the GA Band

  • “With a Little Help from My Friends” Lennon and McCartney

  • “Heart Wide Open” Lea Morris

  • Gratefulness Revs. Gretchen Haley and Sean Neil-Barron

  • Closing Song—“There is More Love Somewhere” Traditional Spiritual Arrangement by Adam Podd

  • Benediction Rev. Gretchen Haley

  • Postlude

0 views0 comments